High Commission of Sri Lanka in India

New Minister of External Affairs, Prof. G. L. Peiris assumes duties PDF Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) E-mail
Tuesday, 04 May 2010 04:23
The new Minister of External Affairs, Prof. Gamini Lakshman Peiris assumed duties at the Ministry of External Affairs on 3rd May 2010  amidst the chanting of pirith followed by a brief sermon and blessings by the religious dignitaries present on the occasion.
Thereafter, addressing the staff of the Ministry, the new External Affairs Minister stated that he has assumed duties as the Minister of External Affairs at a time when terrorism has been successfully defeated and the focus is on social and economic development. He stated that the approach of President Mahinda Rajapaksa to Sri Lanka’s Foreign Policy as underlined in the Mahinda Chinthanaya was to ensure that it was homegrown, indigenous and reflects Sri Lanka’s history, culture, social and economic values which are considered sacrosanct, and our own relations with countries. He also pointed out that while it may not be possible to be in agreement with the international community at all times, Sri Lanka would convey its stance in the spirit of camaraderie, listen and respect the views of others. He also said that Sri Lanka would continue engaging with other countries and that it would be on the basis of partnership and participation. The External Affairs Minister also stated that one of the main objectives of the country’s foreign policy would be to focus on the unique opportunities available in Sri Lanka and encourage countries to explore them and be partners in Sri Lanka’s progress.
High Commissioner Kariyawasam presents Credentials in Bhutan PDF Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) E-mail
Monday, 03 May 2010 07:33

H.E. Mr. Prasad Kariyawasam, the High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to India, who is concurrently accredited as non-resident Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Kingdom of Bhutan, presented his Credentials to His Majesty King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck on 25th April 2010.  After the presentation of Credentials, the Ambassador held discussions with His Majesty the King, Hon. Lyonchhen Jigmy Y. Thinley, Prime Minister of Bhutan and senior officials of the Government of Bhutan.

Build new structures to achieve full potential of SAARC - President PDF Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) E-mail
Thursday, 29 April 2010 03:48

“Let us within our own grouping be bold enough to introspect. We must take measures to improve the existing mechanisms through review, rationalization and re-invigoration. If there is a need, we should not hesitate to build new structures and mechanisms, to enable SAARC to reach its full potential,” said President Mahinda Rajapaksa in his address to 16th SAARC Summit at Thimphu, Bhutan today.

Having a common South Asian voice in issues of Climate Change, with those who historically contributed to climate change now sharing the burden of mitigating it; continued cooperation in the battle against terrorism; taking economic progress beyond statistics to reach the village level where most South Asians live, carrying out policies that strengthen the rural sector and prevent the unwelcome movement from village to city; and, the search for South Asia’s own home grown solutions to current and future problems were among the highlights of the President’s address.

SAARC leadership handed to Bhutan by Lankan President PDF Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) E-mail
Thursday, 29 April 2010 03:44

Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa handed over the chairmanship of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)  to Bhutanese Prime Minister Jigmi Y. Thinley during the inauguration of the 16th summit of the heads of state of SAARC at Thimpu in Bhutan.

New Cabinet sworn in PDF Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) E-mail
Saturday, 24 April 2010 04:38


The new Cabinet of Ministers of the UPFA government headed by President Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in at the Presidential Secretariat this afternoon (23 April).

37 Ministers and 39 Deputy Ministers were sworn in. The previous Cabinet comprised 51 Ministers, 39 non- Cabinet Ministers and 19 Deputy Ministers. Thus, the new Cabinet is significantly smaller with the number of Cabinet Ministers reduced to 37.

Page 104 of 109